Q&A - FINALY, ANSWERS!!!

qa1

What is your name?

My Name is Dani :)
And my artist/ DJ name is
‚Ina D‘.

QA2

Where are you from?

Was born and raised in a small but cute city called Graz in Austria.
After I’ve finished my A-levels, I decided to move to Vienna to study sales and advertisement at the Vienna University of Economics and Business.
5 years and a graduation later, I was working a full-time job as a manager in retail. Berlin seemed like the perfect next step to me, so I’ve decided to quit my job, leave Vienna and start from scratch. Now I live in Berlin since 2013 and it looks like I am going to stay some more years .. but let’s see what the future brings :)

qa3

Why and how did you become a DJ?

Music has always been a big part of my life. Was dancing a lot when I was little. Also, it happened to be that I was (and still am) a big Michael Jackson fan.
When I was a teenager, I fell in love with Hip Hop and RnB and went to a lot of party's by that time. A friend of mine introduced me to a well-known DJ, that played at all the HH parties and I asked him if he could teach me how to DJ.
Luckily he had the patience and said yes ;) It cost me lots of time because he taught me DJing from scratch like it used to be: with vinyl. At the same time, I’ve got a part-time job at a record store in Graz, which helped me a lot to discover which music I really like and want to play as a DJ.
So one thing led to another and a few years later I’ve played at every party and location in Graz. That's when I decided to take the next step music wise and move to Vienna.
Because of my job at the records store, my musical style changed a lot and I fell in love with electronic music (Deep House, Tech House, Techno).
After the years went by, I also started co-producing music with two producers in Vienna and released my first EP on
a German label called Circle Music.

PS: My next gig is in Berlin (28.7. at Chausseestrasse 131) and I will DJ in Brookly/New York on the 7th of September.

QA4

What is your job?

(This was one of the most asked questions btw ;))
So, here is my answer: I have 3 jobs basically. One part-time job (3 days a week) that pays the bills, people call me an Influencer and I DJ from time to time.

QA5

Do you have any hobbies?

So many … 🙈. First of all, I love music and to discover new tracks and artists. Then there is my huge passion for streetwear, fashion and brands. Last but not least: I really enjoy watching NFL football - that’s kind of my secret passion.
Nobody gets it really but I just love it. Been to three NFL games and going to a fourth in New York in September this year. 🙆🏻‍♀️

 

qa6

How did you become a 'tomboy model‘?

First of all, I ain’t no model! -Far away from being any kind of model, to be honest.
What a shame! haha
I just like to wear ‘tomboy styles’ and androgynous outfits because I think it suits me well and it is very authentic.
Love to wear mens clothing, its the best <3

QA7

How/when did you realize you were gay?

When I was 18 years old, I had a dream about kissing a girl.
Right at this moment, everything made sense to me and I understood my whole childhood: me dressing up as a boy, always short hair. Also, I always wanted to be a boy back then.
Unfortunately, my parents never told me that there are more options out there, except dating boys, so it took me a little longer to recognize whats up with me.

QA8

When and how did you come out?

My mum always entered my room without knocking.
So, she entered my room when I was currently sleeping, besides my first GF, with our pants both laying on the floor.
What can I say? Guess this was my outing ;)

QA9

Your thoughts on gender identity?

My wish: everybody should just be able to be who they want to be, without being judged!
Well, I know we are far from that but I think everyone can participate to create a future where this might be possible.

qa10

Any tips for someone who wants to get all the sneaker and clothing drops?

So for me, if I want a new/rare sneaker, I play all the raffles and just hope to win.
Luckily, in Berlin, we have many stores that get rare sneakers which makes it a bit easier to win a raffle.
But like anyone else, I just try my luck and be persistent about it :)

 

qa12

How to afford all your trendy designer clothing?

Well, I know this is an interesting topic for you, so let me answer this ;)
The first thing that I have to say: 98% of all the clothes that I am wearing, on my Instagram, I’ve bought with my own money.
Its just round about 2% sponsored stuff. So how can I afford all the designer clothes: I buy many but also sell it again after taking pics with it.
If I am not in love with a piece, I sell it again after I wore it 1-2 times. This pretty much gives me the possibility to kind of ‚exchange‘ my clothes quite often. That's pretty much the ‚trick‘.

qa12

Biggest fashion inspiration?

Peggy Gou,

 

 

Veneda Budny,

 Mellany Sanchez

qa14

Favorite Brands?

My mood right now is kind of ‚back to basics‘:
Stussy, Dickies, Carhartt, Palace.
Of course I am into designers als well:
Raf Simons, Balenciaga, Alyx and Burberry.

 

qa15

Are you happy?

Yes. I am :)
I live the life that I always wanted to live. Of course, with Instagram, you never know what is going to happen next but I will go on as long as possible.
Of course, there are a few things that could always be better but I cannot complain and I always try to live in the present.